La Santa Muerte

Nuestra Señora de la Santa Muerte or Santa Muerte (Spanish for holy death) is a popular saint who is venerated especially in Mexico and in the southwestern USA. As the personification of death, it is associated by its followers with healing, protection and safe passage to the afterlife.

Despite being demonised by the Catholic Church, the Santa Muerte tradition arose from popular Mexican popular belief - a mixture of indigenous Mesoamerican and Spanish Catholic beliefs and practices. Since pre-Columbian times, Mexican culture has retained a certain reverence for death, as evidenced by the celebration of the Dia de los Muertos, the Day of the Dead. Elements of this celebration include the use of skeletons to remind people of their mortality. Adoration is condemned as heretical by the Catholic Church in Mexico, and is firmly anchored in Mexican culture.

Santa Muerte generally appears as a female scythe figure dressed in the habit of a nun with one or more objects. Usually a scythe and a bullet, which she holds in her bony hands. The color of her robe depends on the petitions and thanks that her followers address to her. Since the worship of Santa Muerte was secret until the 20th century, most prayers and rites were traditionally handed down and performed within the family. Since the beginning of the 21st century, Santa Muerte has become the focus of public attention, especially in Mexico City, after Enriqueta Romero unveiled her famous shrine in Mexico City in 2001.

Over the past ten to twenty years, the number of followers of Santa Muerte has grown to several million in Mexico, the United States and parts of Central America, Australia, Europe and Japan.

1/1
 

Holy Death

The Spanish name of the skeleton saint, Santa Muerte, has been translated into English as "Saint Death" or "Holy Death", although the religious scholar R. Andrew Chesnut believes that the former is a more accurate translation because it "better reveals" her identity as a folk saint.

A variant of Santa Muerte is Santísima Muerte, which is translated as "Most Holy Death", while many followers call it Santisma Muerte during their rituals.

Santa Muerte is also known by the following names: the thin lady (La Flaquita), the bony lady (La Huesuda), the white girl (Niña Blanca), the white sister (La Hermana Blanca), the pretty girl ( La Niña Bonita), the powerful lady (La Dama Poderosa) and the godmother (La Madrina).

The Skeleton Saint also has a number of proper names, such as Señora de las Sombras ("Lady of the Shadows"), Señora Blanca ("White Lady"), Señora Negra ("Black Lady"), Niña Santa ("Holy Girl"), Santa Sebastiana (St. Sebastienne) or Doña Bella Sebastiana ("Our Beautiful Lady Sebastienne") and La Flaca ("The Thin Woman").

 

Santa Muerte History

The exact origins of the worship of Santa Muerte are controversial, most likely it is a mixture of the Mesoamerican and the Spanish Catholic faith. The Mesoamerican belief systems retained a reverence for death, which manifested itself in the religious practices of ancient Mexico, including the Aztec religion. Death is symbolized in the Aztec culture and in other indigenous cultures as the duality of life and death. From their ancestors the Aztecs inherited the gods Mictlantecuhtli and Mictecacihuatl, the lord and lady of Mictlan, the realm of the dead. In order to receive the deceased in Mictlan, offerings to the gods of death were necessary.

In the European Christian tradition, many artists used skeletons to express human mortality. This worship of skeletal figures in 14th century Europe, in times of epidemics, is a precedent.

After the Spanish conquest of the Aztec Empire, the worship of death diminished but is never completely eradicated. According to an 18th century report recorded in the annals of the Spanish Inquisition, indigenous peoples in central Mexico threatened a skeletal figure they called "Santa Muerte" with whip lashes unless she performed miracles or fulfilled their wishes.

A further mixing of pre-Columbian and Christian beliefs about death is found in the celebration of the Day of the Dead. During these celebrations, Mexicans gather in cemeteries to sing and pray for deceased friends and family members. Chocolate or sweets are consumed in the form of skulls. In contrast to the Day of the Dead, the open worship of Santa Muerte remained a secret until the middle of the 20th century. When the Santa Muerte tradition came to public attention at sporadic events, the reaction was often hostile and included the desecration of shrines and altars.

At the beginning of the 20th century, the artist José Guadalupe Posada created a similar secular figure called La Catrina, a female skeleton in fashionable clothing of the time. José Guadelupe Posada began to awaken the idea that the universality of death created a fundamental equality between people. La Catrina is supposed to represent the arbitrary and violent nature of an unequal society. Modern artists began to establish Posada's styles as a national artistic goal in order to expand the boundaries of upper class taste, like Diego Rivera's mural Dream of a Sunday Afternoon at the Alameda Central with the painting La Catrina.

In effort to establish a symbol of Mexican national identity, the image of the skeleton and the Day of the Dead ritual, which used to be held underground, has been commercialized and domesticated. The skeletal images are folklore and embody Posada's message of "la muerte igualidad" (same death). The skeletons were put into extravagant dresses with plaits in their hair, which changed the image of Posada's original La Catrina.

Contrary to the political message Posada intended, the "skeletons of equality" became skeletons that appeal to tourists and the national folkloric Mexican identity. In recent years, the renewal of social and political significance and the creation of the statue of Doña Queta strengthened the Santa Muerte tradition, although it is not recognized by the Catholic Church.

The veneration of Santa Muerte was documented in the 1940s in working-class neighborhoods in Mexico City such as Tepito. Other sources indicate that the revival around 1965 originated in the state of Hidalgo. At present, Santa Muerte can be found throughout Mexico and in parts of the United States and Central America. The tradition of Santa Muerte received widespread attention in Mexico in August 1998 when the police arrested the notorious criminal Daniel Arizmendi López and discovered a shrine to the saint in his apartment. This discovery was widely reported in the press and shaped the image of Santa Muerte as a sign of violence and crime among the Mexican people.

In the late 2000s, the founder of the first Santa Muerte Church in Mexico City, David Romo, estimated that 5 million followers worshipped Santa Muerte in Mexico, which is a good 5% of the country's population.

The rise of the Santa Muerte tradition is controversial, and in March 2009 the Mexican army destroyed street shrines near the U.S. border. Starting in 2005, the Santa Muerte tradition was brought to the United States by Mexican and Central American migrants, and by 2012, tens of thousands of followers were counted throughout the country, especially in cities with a high Latino population.

  • Santa Muerte Facebook
  • Instagram Santa Muerte Tattoos

Designed with love in Kiel.

© 2020 by KIELUA

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now

La Santa Muerte

Nuestra Señora de la Santa Muerte oder Santa Muerte (spanisch für Heiliger Tod) ist eine Volksheilige, die vor allem in Mexiko und im Südwesten der USA verehrt wird. Als Personifikation des Todes wird sie von ihren Anhängern mit Heilung, Schutz und sicherem Übergang ins Jenseits verbunden.

Trotz der Verteufelung durch die katholische Kirche entstand die Santa Muerte Tradition aus dem populären mexikanischen Volksglauben – eine Vermischung indigener mesoamerikanischer und spanisch katholischer Überzeugungen und Praktiken. Seit der präkolumbianischen Zeit hat sich die mexikanische Kultur eine gewisse Ehrfurcht vor dem Tod bewahrt, dies zeigt sich auch in den Feierlichkeiten des Dia de los Muertos, dem Tag der Toten. Elemente dieser Feier beinhalten die Verwendung von Skeletten, um die Menschen an ihre Sterblichkeit zu erinnern. Die Anbetung wird von der katholischen Kirche in Mexiko als ketzerisch verurteilt, ist fest in der mexikanischen Kultur verankert.

 

Santa Muerte erscheint im Allgemeinen als eine weibliche Sensenfrau gekleidet in den Habit einer Nonne mit einem oder mehreren Objekte. Normalerweise eine Sense und eine Kugel, welche sie in ihren knochigen Händen hält. Die Farbe ihres Gewandes ist abhängig von den Bittgesuchen und Danksagungen, die ihre Anhänger an sie richten. Da die Anbetung von Santa Muerte bis ins 20. Jahrhundert geheim war, wurden die meisten Gebete und Riten traditionell in der Familie überliefert und durchgeführt. Seit Anfang des 21. Jahrhunderts ist Santa Muerte vor allem in Mexiko-Stadt in den Fokus der Öffentlichkeit gerückt, nachdem Enriqueta Romero 2001 ihren berühmten Schrein in Mexiko-Stadt enthüllte.

Die Zahl der Anhänger Santa Muertes ist in den letzten zehn bis zwanzig Jahren auf mehrere Millionen Anhänger in Mexiko, den Vereinigten Staaten und Teilen Zentralamerikas, Australiens, Europas und Japan angestiegen.

1/1
 

Die Heilige des Todes

Der spanische Name der Skelett-Heiligen, Santa Muerte, wurde als "Saint Death" oder "Holy Death" ins Englische übersetzt, obwohl der Religionswissenschaftler R. Andrew Chesnut der Meinung ist, dass die erstgenannte Übersetzung eine genauere ist, weil sie ihre Identität als Volksheilige "besser enthüllt".
 

Eine Variante von Santa Muerte ist Santísima Muerte, was als "Allerheiligster Tod" übersetzt wird, während viele Anhänger sie Santisma Muerte während ihrer Rituale nennen.
 

Santa Muerte ist auch unter den folgenden Namen bekannt: die dünne Dame (La Flaquita), die knochige Dame (La Huesuda), das Weiße Mädchen (Niña Blanca), die Weiße Schwester (La Hermana Blanca), das Hübsche Mädchen ( La Niña Bonita), die mächtige Dame (La Dama Poderosa) und die Patin (La Madrina).
 

Die Skelett-Heilige verfügt zudem über eine Reihe von Eigennamen, wie Señora de las Sombras ("Dame der Schatten"), Señora Blanca ("Weiße Dame"), Señora Negra ("Schwarze Dame"), Niña Santa ("Heiliges Mädchen"), Santa Sebastiana (St. Sebastienne) oder Doña Bella Sebastiana („Unsere schöne Frau Sebastienne“) und La Flaca („Die dünne Frau“).

 

Santa Muerte Geschichte

Die genauen Ursprünge der Anbetung von Santa Muerte sind umstritten, höchstwahrscheinlich handelt es sich um eine Vermischung des mesoamerikanischen und des spanisch-katholischen Glaubens. Die mesoamerikanischen Glaubenssysteme bewahrten sich eine Ehrfurcht vor dem Tod, die sich in den religiösen Praktiken des alten Mexikos manifestierte, u.a. in der aztekischen Religion. Der Tod wird in der Kultur der Azteken und in anderen indigenen Kulturen als die Dualität von Leben und Tod symbolosiert. Von ihren Vorfahren erbten die Azteken die Götter Mictlantecuhtli und Mictecacihuatl, den Herrn und die Dame von Mictlan, dem Reich der Toten. Um den Verstorbenen in Mictlan aufnehmen zu können, waren Opfergaben an die Götter des Todes notwendig.

In der europäischen christlichen Tradition verwendeten viele Künstler Skelette, um die menschliche Sterblichkeit auszudrücken. Diese Verehrung von Skelettfiguren im Europa des 14. Jahrhunderts, in Zeiten von Epidemien, ist ein Präzedenzfall.

Nach der spanischen Eroberung des Aztekenreiches verringerte sich die Verehrung des Todes, wird aber nie ganz ausgerottet. Einem Bericht aus dem 18. Jahrhundert zufolge, der in den Annalen der spanischen Inquisition verzeichnet ist, haben indigene Völker in Zentralmexiko eine Skelettfigur, die sie als "Santa Muerte" bezeichneten, mit Peitschenhieben bedroht, wenn sie keine Wunder vollbringe oder ihre Wünsche erfülle.

Eine weitere Vermischung der präkolumbianischen und christlichen Überzeugungen über den Tod findet sich bei den Feierlichkeiten zum Tag der Toten. Während dieser Feierlichkeiten versammeln sich die Mexikaner auf den Friedhöfe, um für verstorbene Freunde und Familienmitglieder zu singen und zu beten. Schokolade oder Süßigkeiten werden in Form von Schädeln verzehrt. Im Gegensatz zum Tag der Toten blieb die offene Verehrung von Santa Muerte bis zur Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts geheim. Als die Santa Muerte Tradition bei sporadischen Ereignissen an die Öffentlichkeit gelangte, war die Reaktion oft ablehnend und beinhaltete das Schänden von Schreinen und Altären.

Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts schuf der Künstler José Guadalupe Posada eine ähnliche, weltliche Figur mit dem Namen La Catrina, eine weibliches Skelette in modischer Kleidung der damaligen Zeit. José Guadelupe Posada begann die Idee zu erwecken, dass die Universalität des Todes eine grundlegende Gleichheit zwischen den Menschen hervorbrachte. La Catrina soll die willkürliche und gewalttätige Natur einer ungleichen Gesellschaft darstellen. Moderne Künstler begannen, Posadas Stile als nationales künstlerisches Ziel zu etablieren, um die Grenzen des Geschmacks der Oberklasse zu erweitern, wie Diego Riveras Wandgemälde Dream of a Sunday Afternoon in der Alameda Central mit dem Bild La Catrina.

 

In dem Bestreben, ein Symbol für die mexikanische nationale Identität zu etablieren, wurde das Bild des Skeletts und das Ritual "Tag der Toten", das früher im Untergrund abgehalten wurde, kommerzialisiert und domestiziert. Die skelettartigen Bilder sind Folklore und verkörpern Posadas Botschaft von "la muerte igualidad" (gleichem Tod). Die Skelette wurden in extravagante Kleider mit Zöpfen im Haar gesteckt, was das Bild von Posadas Original-La Catrina veränderte.

Im Gegensatz zu der politischen Botschaft, die Posada beabsichtigte, wurden die Skelette der Gleichheit zu Skeletten, die Touristen und die nationale folkloristische mexikanische Identität ansprechen. In den letzten Jahren stärkte die Erneuerung der sozialen und politischen Bedeutung und die Entstehung der Statue von Doña Queta den Santa Muerte Tradition, obwohl er von der katholischen Kirche nicht anerkannt wird.
 

Die Verehrung von Santa Muerte wurde in den 1940er Jahren in Arbeitervierteln in Mexiko-Stadt wie Tepito dokumentiert. Andere Quellen geben an, dass die Wiederbelebung um 1965 im Bundesstaat Hidalgo ihren Ursprung hat. Gegenwärtig ist Santa Muerte in ganz Mexiko sowie in Teilen der Vereinigten Staaten und Mittelamerikas zu finden. Die Tradition von Santa Muerte fand im August 1998 in Mexiko breite Beachtung, als die Polizei den berüchtigten Kriminellen Daniel Arizmendi López verhaftete und in seiner Wohnung einen Schrein für die Heiligen entdeckte. Diese Entdeckung war in der Presse weit verbreitet und prägte das Bild von Santa Muerte als Zeichen von Gewalt und Kriminalität im mexikanischen Volk.

 

In den späten 2000er Jahren schätzte der Gründer der ersten Santa Muerte Kirche in Mexico City, David Romo, dass in Mexiko 5 Millionen Anhänger Santa Muerte verehrten, was gut 5% der Bevölkerung des Landes ausmacht.

 

Der Aufstieg der Santa Muerte Tradition ist umstritten, und im März 2009 zerstörte die mexikanische Armee Straßenschreine nahe der US-Grenze. Ab 2005 wurde die Santa Muerte Tradition von mexikanischen und zentralamerikanischen Migranten in die Vereinigten Staaten gebracht und 2012 zählten im ganzen Land Zehntausende Anhänger, vor allem in Städten mit hohem Latino-Bevölkerungsanteil.

Designed with love in Kiel.

© 2019 by KIELUA

  • Santa Muerte Facebook
  • Instagram Santa Muerte Tattoos
This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now